top of page
  • Writer's pictureCity Hall Conservatives


City Hall Conservatives have officially reconstituted following a strong performance in Thursday’s London Assembly elections. The Conservatives retained three constituencies and gained a fifth Member from the London-wide list, giving the group a total of eight Assembly Members.


London Conservatives out-performed the national picture, with final Assembly voting figures placing the Conservatives well ahead of current opinion polling for London.


Thomas Turrell AM joins City Hall Conservatives as the new Assembly Member for Bexley and Bromley, whilst Alessandro Georgiou AM was newly elected as a London-wide Assembly Member.


Neil Garratt AM was re-elected for the Croydon and Sutton constituency, whilst Keith Prince AM was re-elected for Havering and Redbridge. Susan Hall AM, Shaun Bailey AM, Emma Best AM, and Andrew Boff AM were re-elected from the London-wide list vote.


Neil Garratt AM continues as Group Leader, as does Emma Best AM as Deputy Leader.


Neil Garratt AM, Group Leader, said:I congratulate Sadiq Khan on his re-election as Mayor for a third term and I share all Londoners’ hopes that he leads our great city well in the coming 4 years. Although we fell short of winning the Mayoralty, the strong performance of our London Assembly vote is a testament to Londoners’ recognition of our important role in scrutinising the Mayor on your behalf. Thank you for putting your trust in us: I promise we will continue to ensure your voice is heard in City Hall.


“This result would have been impossible without all the hard work of London Conservatives’ volunteers in every part of our city, so I would also like to thank each one of you who gave so much time and energy to the campaign right across London.


I am delighted to be re-elected by the people of Croydon and Sutton, and as Group Leader by my colleagues. I would especially like to welcome our two new Members – Thomas Turrell and Alessandro Georgiou – to City Hall Conservatives. I know they will be fantastic champions for Londoners.


We are disappointed to lose Tony Devenish, who has been a tireless advocate for the whole of West Central and its constituents. Tony has played a vital role in holding the Mayor to account and leading the campaign to reopen Hammersmith Bridge. Nick Rogers and Peter Fortune have also stepped down at this election – both have been incredibly hardworking constituency Members. The whole Group wishes Tony, Nick, and Peter all the very best for the future.”


Emma Best AM, Deputy Group Leader, said:I’m delighted to have been re-elected as a London-wide Assembly Member and by my colleagues as Deputy Leader of City Hall Conservatives. Standing up for all Londoners over the last four years, including campaigning for the rights of LGBT+ and disabled Londoners, has been an absolute privilege and I can’t wait to get started on another four years. We are disappointed to have lost Tony but remain a very strong group following this election. This is only made possible by all of our brilliant volunteers across London. Thank you to everyone who voted Conservative at this election.”


Alessandro Georgiou AM said:Gaining an additional Conservative Member from the London-wide vote is a very encouraging result and I am incredibly grateful to everyone who voted Conservative. It is a privilege to be elected as an Assembly Member and I look forward to campaigning hard on the issues that matter to Londoners.”


bottom of page